X

Contact Us

June 9, 2020

#DiversifyYourFeed: Black Creatives & Organizations to Support

While we’re spending time listening, educating, reading and talking about race in our communities, one of the easiest ways we can show up for the Black community is by uplifting and supporting Black creatives. We know there is a lot of hard work to be done, and while we can’t solve everything right away, doing nothing is no longer an option.

In today’s newsletter, we’re highlighting a number of Black influencers, authors, podcasters, and business owners to encourage us all to #DiversifyYourFeed. Remember: It’s not enough to just follow people from all different backgrounds. We have to take the time to listen, engage, invest in and support the Black community today and always. When we listen with an open mind and heart to what people are saying, we gain insight into how to treat people with more respect, understanding and love.

*Local Orange County businesses and National organizations to support are listed at the bottom*


Family
Candice Brathwaite – @candicebrathwaite
Ro Williams Brann – @rowilliamsbrann
Making a Home – @makingahomehere
The Traveling Child – @thetravelingchild
Mattie James – @themattiejames
Leslie Elizabeth – @butterscotchxqueen
Aaronica Cole – @aaronicabcole
Ashley | MommyWeek – @mommyweek
Ashley Sirah Nicole Chea – @watermeloneggrolls
Aseky Bonnaire – @asekyb

Lifestyle
Emmanuel Acho – @themanacho
Brittany Packnett Cunningham – @mspackyetti
Ty Alexander – @tyalexander
Demetria L. Lucas – @demetriallucas
Michell C. Clark – @michellcclark
Alexandra Elle – @alex_elle
Steven Onoja – @stevenonoja
Hayet Rida – @hayet.rida
Onyi Moss – @mossonyi
Mimi Labesa – @mimilabesa
Dr. Brittney J. Fusilier – @brittfusilier
Nikki, Meghan, Shay & Brandy – @influencingincolor

Business
Bozoma Saint John – @badassboz
Valeisha – @valeisha
Richelieu Dennis – @richelieudennis
Morgan DeBaun – @morgandebaun
Justin R Gerrard – @justinrgerrard
Angela Rye – @angelarye
Tai Beauchamp – @taibeau
Elaine Welteroth – @elainewelteroth
Amanda Seales – @amandaseales
Deesha Dyer – @deedyer267

Finance
Patrice C. Washington – @seekwisdompcw
Tiffany Aliche – @thebudgetnista
Ash Cash Exantus – @iamashcash
Talaat and Tai McNeely – @hisandhermoney
Tonya Rapley – @myfabfinance
Black Girl Ventures – @blackgirlventures

Home Décor
Made by Carli – @madebycarli
Sheda Jackson – @sincerely_sheda
Ajai Guyot – @truehome_
Kay – @onceupona1912
Nubi Interiors – @carmeon.hamilton
Pure Collected Living – @purecoliving
Tanieka Harris – @thisborrowedhome
Eureka – @my.cozy_corner
Candace Mary Interiors – @candacemaryinteriors
Chenai Robson – @chenairobson

Beauty
Nyma Tang – @nymatang
Raye Boyce – @itsmyrayeraye
Nakawundé – @nakawunde
Beauty by Lee – @beautybylee
Shalom Blac – @shalomblac
Denny Daily – @dennydaily
Myleik Teele – @myleik
Tiarra Monet – @tiarramonet

Art
Sophia – @qtplannerco
Krystle Collins – @createtheculture_embroidery
Melarie Odelusi – @melarieodelusi

Food
LaKita – @simplylakita
Tanorria Askew – @tanorriastable
Marisa Moore, MBA, RDN – @marisamoore
Imma – @immaculatebites
Tanya – @myforkinglife
Marissa Allen – @firstandfull
Nicole – @brownsugarfoodblogger
Rosalynn Daniels – @rosalynndaniels
Kevin Curry – @fitmencook
Jocelyn Delk Adams – @grandbabycakes
Jerrelle Guy – @chocolateforbasil


Current Affairs
Pod Save the People – @crookedmedia
Higher Learning with Van Lathan and Rachel Lindsey – @vanlathan @therachlindsay
Larry Wilmore: Black on the Air – @ldub61
Jemele Hill is Unbothered – @jhillunbothered

Culture
It’s Been a Minute with Sam Sanders – @samsanders
Small Doses with Amanda Seales – @amandaseales
Still Processing – @jennydeluxe
The Nod – @thenodshow
Go Off, Sis – @go_off_sis_podcast
Say Your Mind – https://apple.co/3dMNajt

Wellness
Black Girl in Om – @blackgirlinom
Therapy for Black Girls – @therapyforblackgirls
Gettin’ Grown – @gettingrownpod
Power Hour Podcast – @adrienne_ldn
The Gurls Talk Podcast – @adwoaaboah
HOODxHOLISTIC Podcast – @hoodxholisticpodcast

Business
Innovation Crush – @innovationcrush
The Ash Cash Show – @theashcashshow
Side Hustle Pro – @sidehustlepro
Behind the Brilliance – @lisanicolebell
Championing Women’s Voices – https://apple.co/3cFhR8H
Mattie James the Podcast – @themattiejames
Back to Biz with Katie and Boz – https://apple.co/2zYLDIt

Parenting
NATAL – https://www.natalstories.com/listen
Good Moms Bad Choices – https://www.goodmomsbadchoices.com/
That Black Couple – https://thatblackcouple.com/
Sisters in Loss – @sistersinloss
Modern Mommies – https://apple.co/3dGx2zN
Shades of Black Parenting – @shadesofblackpodcast
Mommifaceted – @mommifaceted




AGES 0-2

  • The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats
  • A Letter to Amy by Ezra Jack Keats
  • Hi, Cat! by Ezra Jack Keats
  • Whistle for Willie by Ezra Jack Keats

AGES 3-5

  • Saturday by Oge Mora
  • Last Stop on Market Street by Matt de la Peña
  • Hair Love by Matthew A. Cherry
  • Kamala and Maya’s Big Idea by Meena Harris

AGES 6-8

  • Each Kindness by Jacqueline Woodson
  • The Youngest Marcher by Cynthia Levinson

AGES 9-12

  • Resist: 35 Profiles of Ordinary People Who Rose Up Against Tyranny and Injustice by Veronica Chambers
  • Not My Idea: A Book About Whiteness by Anastasia Higginbotham

AGES 12+

  • All American Boys by Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely
  • Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You by Jason Reynolds and Ibram X. Kendi


AoSA Coffee
Huntington Beach
@aosacoffee

Beale’s Texas BBQ
Huntington Beach
@bealestexasbbq

Cloud 9 Bakers
San Juan Capistrano
@cloud9bakers

Fork in the Road Catering
Costa Mesa
@forkintheroadcatering

Georgia’s Restaurant
Anaheim, Long Beach
@georgiassoul

Grams Kitchen
La Palma
@gramskitchenlapalma

Hambone’s BBQ & Grill
Huntington Beach
@hambones_smokehouse

McClain Cellars
Laguna Beach
@mcclaincellars

Munchies Diner
Santa Ana
@munchiesdiner

Naughty Panda
Santa Ana
@itsnaughtypanda

Protein Lab
Brea, Buena Park
@fueledbyproteinlab

Robert Earl’s BBQ
Long Beach
@robertearlsbbq

Roscoe’s House of Chicken & Waffles
Anaheim, Long Beach
@roscoesofficial

Sal’s Gumbo Shack
Long Beach
@salsgumboshack

The Fuel Shack
Garden Grove
@thefuelshack

Tribute Coffee House
Garden Grove
@tributecoffeehouse


C Dobbs
Newport Beach
@cdobbsfashion

K.O. Dog Training
San Juan Capistrano
http://www.kodogtraining.com/

Laguna Candles
Laguna Beach
@lagunacandles

Love Amour Propre
Mission Viejo
@loveamourpropre

Lucky Black Skin Solution
Tustin
@myluckyblack

Sandra Johnson Designs
Anaheim Hills
@sandrajohnsondesigns

Sporty Cuts
Irvine
@sporty_cuts

Tico Rico
San Clemente
@ticoricohotsauce


100 Black Men of Orange County
Black Chamber of Orange County
Orange County African American Community Center Inc. 
Orange County Heritage Council
Orange County Justice Fund 
Young Black Professionals of Orange County


Black Lives Matter Foundation
Color of Change 
Equal Justice Initiative 
Fair Fight 
NAACP Legal Defense Fund
Campaign Zero
Hate Is A Virus
Hello Beautiful
Love Beyond Walls
Showing Up for Racial Justice
Ethel’s Club
The Leadership Conference
United We Dream
The Loveland Foundation

We understand that this is not a comprehensive list, but it’s a start! Please reach out to us if you know of more and we will add so this can continue to be an ever-growing resource! xo

CONTACT

Connect with us today